High Fashion: Hilary

I like flipping through images of fashion shows because I find I have definite opinions about the clothing, the story they tell and whether or not I think it was a success. This probably isn’t too uncommon, but I love it because I was raised in a not-high-fashion house. My parents are modern, but not couture by any means and I’ll admit I shied away from my interest in popular culture and fashion because of a taught feeling it was ridiculous.

Image

As I’ve gotten older I’ve realized how much my personality falls in line with the fashion world. I prefer shopping at thrift stores because they offer more variety; allowing me to mix and experiment and wear ridiculous clothes. Also, I can get more bang for my buck. It leaves me feeling unique, creative and guiltless.

This winter I won a competition with Diet Coke so they flew me to New York for their Red Dress Fashion show. While waiting in the airport to fly out I stopped to get a water and decided it was appropriate to buy a fashion magazine. I settled on Elle, then realized it was the first fashion magazine I had ever dared to buy. It’s actually a little sad; I’ve spent my entire life looking for inspiration and here were articles and images from driven, successful women who seemed to fall in line with some of my passions and interests. Why had I denied myself for so loassess my career path. Why had I denied myself for so long? 

No more. Whatever is inspirational, go for it, right?

Leave a Reply

